Award Winners Announced at 63rd Annual Edinburgh International Film Festival

The Edinburgh International Film Festival (EIFF) announced the winners in the twelve competition categories for both feature and short films on Sunday 28th June.  The awards were presented by EIFF Artistic Director Hannah McGill, Deputy Artistic Director Diane Henderson and Patrons Sir Sean Connery and Seamus McGarvey on the closing day of the Festival at a public ceremony in Filmhouse. This year’s winners are:

Michael Powell Award for Best New British Feature Film, sponsored by the UK Film Council
MOON – Directed by Duncan Jones

PPG Award for Best Performance in a British Feature Film

Best New International Feature Award
EASIER WITH PRACTICE – Directed by Kyle Patrick Alvarez

Standard Life Audience Award
THE SECRET OF KELLS – Directed by Tomm Moore

Best Documentary Award
BORIS RYZHY – Directed by Aliona Van der Horst

Skillset New Directors Award

The Rotten Tomatoes Critical Consensus Award
HUMPDAY – Directed by Lynn Shelton

UK Film Council Award for Best British Short Film
AFTER TOMORROW – Directed by Emma Sullivan

Best International Short Film Award
PRINCESS MARGARET BLD. – Directed by Kazik Radwanski

Scottish Short Documentary Award supported by Baillie Gifford
PETER IN RADIOLAND – Directed by Johanna Wagner

McLaren Award for New British Animation in partnership with BBC Film Network
PHOTOGRAPH OF JESUS – Directed by Laurie Hill

For more information on all the winners at this year's EIFF please visit the website

Sign up to receive e-newsletters
If you would like to know how we manage your personal data,
please click on the EventScotland privacy policy.