Norway’s Andreas Mikkelsen has won the 2011 RACMSA Rally of Scotland after dominating the Perthshire and Stirlingshire-based event – the penultimate round of the Intercontinental Rally Challenge – from early on.

After some 200km (120 miles) of timed competitive forest stages that have followed since Friday night’s ceremonial start in front of Stirling Castle, Skoda UK-backed Mikkelsen finished almost half a minute clear of his nearest challenger, Finland’s Juho Hanninen – the pair of them driving Skoda Fabia S2000s. France’s Bryan Bouffier took third in his Peugeot 207 S2000.

Skoda has now secured a hat-trick of wins in Scotland after Guy Wilks and Hanninen steered its Fabia model to victory on 2009 and 2010’s events respectively. For the record, Durham charger Wilks failed to finish the event this time – now driving a Peugeot he set the early pace on Friday night’s opening stages but on Saturday lost more than six minutes with a spin into a ditch. Having clawed his way back into the points he then retired on this afternoon’s very last stage when he damaged his car.

The result means that Mikkelsen, Hanninen and Bouffier along with the Czech Republic’s Jan Kopecky plus Belgian pair Thierry Neuville and Freddy Loix can all still be crowned 2011 IRC Champion in the championship’s final round in Cyprus.

Click here to find out more on how EventScotland invests in motorsport

Sign up to receive e-newsletters
If you would like to know how we manage your personal data,
please click on the EventScotland privacy policy.