Great Britain national team added to Tour of Britain line-up

Tour of Britain

A Great Britain national team will return to The Tour of Britain this September, becoming the seventeenth and final team to be announced for the ninth edition of Britain's national Tour. British Under-23 riders George Atkins, Owain Doull, Josh Edmondson, Tom Moses, Alastair Slater and Simon Yates will represent Great Britain in the eight-day race.

“It is only right that in what has so far been a fantastic year for cycling in Britain that we can showcase the next generation of British talent at this year’s Tour of Britain,” said Race Director Mick Bennett.

“Fans can look forward to seeing six very talented athletes, all of whom are names to watch for the future.”

Great Britain had been a regular fixture in the early years of the modern Tour of Britain, with their last appearance in the race coming in 2008. During that time the likes of Mark Cavendish, Geraint Thomas and Ed Clancy have all ridden The Tour in the red, white and blue colours, while Roger Hammond (2005 & 2006) and Paul Manning (2007) have won stages of The Tour of Britain while on national team duty.

Great Britain provisional line-up

George Atkins, Owain Doull, Josh Edmondson, Thomas Moses, Alastair Slater
Reserves: Dan McLay, Adam Yates

Amateur cyclists can take on the same challenges as the professionals via five different Tour Ride sportives this September, in East Anglia, Scotland, Wales, Stoke-on-Trent and at the Birmingham NEC Cycle Show. To sign-up and to take on the challenge of a route inspired by The Tour of Britain, to enter, please visit

Sign up to receive e-newsletters
If you would like to know how we manage your personal data,
please click on the EventScotland privacy policy.