2016 MOBO Awards Nominations Announced!

Kano leads the pack with four titan nominations at this year’s MOBO Awards for Best Male, Best Album, Best Song and Best Grime Act. This is already shaping up to be one of Kano’s most triumphant years, with the release of his first album in six years –“Made in The Manor” – peaking at #8 on the UK Album Charts, making it his highest-charting album yet. The rapper last took home a MOBO in 2005 for Best Newcomer. 

Laura Mvula shows everyone why she is the queen of this year’s MOBO Awards with her name in four coveted categories: Best Female, Best Album, Best R&B/Soul Act and Best Video. The Birmingham soul artist took home two MOBO Awards in 2013 for Best Female and Best R&B/Soul Act, where she also performed at the star-studded ceremony in Glasgow. She is nominated again for Best Female this year, alongside strong contenders like Lady Leshurr, Little Simz, Katy B and Nao.

Fresh from his internet-breaking Mercury Prize win, Skepta picks up three nominations at this year’s MOBO Awards for Best Male, Best Album for “Konnichiwa” and Best Grime Act

Garage music superstar Craig David continues his blazing comeback streak, earning two major MOBO Awards nominations for Best Male and Best Song for ‘When The Bassline Drops’ (featuring Big Narstie). The MOBO Awards were the first to recognise Craig’s talents, giving him his first awards in 2000 for Best Newcomer and Best R&B Act. Since his debut on our stage 16 years ago, Craig David has gone on to sell 15 million albums, scored 16 Top Ten hits and multi-platinum sales in more than 20 countries.  

Making his MOBO debut is British soul musician Michael Kiwanuka who has enjoyed a successful year with his critically-acclaimed UK #1 album “Love & Hate” featuring the infectious ‘Black Man in a White World’. Michael is up for Best Album and Best R&B/Soul Act.

Elsewhere, music superstars of tomorrow championed in the Best Newcomer category are AJ Tracey, Anne-Marie, Izzy Bizu, Nadia Rose, Ray BLK, 67, Avelio, Mostack, Kojey Radical, and WSTRN. Previous winners of the MOBO Newcomer award include Rita Ora, Kano, Estelle, Tinie Tempah and Ms Dynamite who have all gone onto have ground-breaking, successful careers.

The PRE-MOBO AWARDS event will return for the second year, taking place on Thursday 27 October at Cadogan Hall, London. Following huge success of the inaugural event in 2015, this gala is set to take the celebrations to a whole new level in the capital.  

This year’s MOBO Awards are taking place on Friday 4 November and will be broadcast live on ITV2 and repeated on ITV. This will be the third year of the broadcast partnership between MOBO and ITV.  

Arena tickets for the MOBO Awards are on general sale via www.mobo.com/tickets and www.thessehydro.com and vary from £25 to £45 (excl. handling charge). VIP table tickets are available from www.mobo.com/viptickets.

Sign up to receive e-newsletters
If you would like to know how we manage your personal data,
please click on the EventScotland privacy policy.